Ice Hockey

Saint Joseph Metuchen Ice Hockey
Last Updated: February 22 2020
Follow us on:
Instagram: Coming Soon...

***GMC Champions!***

The Falcons (#1 seed in the GMC) captured the Kolodney Cup on Friday February 21 by winning a hard fought, exciting game over Monroe (#2 seed) 4-3 at The Arenas at Woodbridge.  Watch the highlights.    Box Score  
Catch up on the details here.

***NJSIAA Non-Public State Tournament***

The Falcons (#13 seed) will host The Frisch School (#20) on Tuesday February 25 at 4:45pm at The Arenas at Woodbridge in the first round of the NJSIAA Non-Public State Tournament.  Winner will travel to Delbarton (#5) on either Thursday February 27 or February 28 (to be determined).

Our Program
The 2019-2020 season is the 34th year of Saint Joseph High School Ice Hockey!  Our program provides an opportunity for over 40 players each season to compete in the sport of ice hockey. We are proud to have two players selected by the NHL and overall more than 40 percent of our players have continued their ice hockey careers at the collegiate level, some attaining NCAA Division 1 scholarships (see list below).
We place a significant emphasis on people and hockey skill development via a fully integrated program. By fully integrated, we mean a program that is well-connected not only between varsity and junior varsity but also with the teachers, guidance counselors, and administration of the school.

Professional Journalist and Saint Joseph Alum Greg Tufaro created a video report about our ice hockey past and present.  

GMC Champions 2019, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012
Egan Cup Champions 2017, 2016
2 NHL Draft Selections   
8 NCAA Division I Players
14 NCAA Division III Players
2 USHL Draft Selections
Ten-time Division Finalist
Twelve Division 1st Place Finishes
Twenty-four NJSIAA State Tournament Appearances
Nine-time NJSIAA State Tournament Quarterfinalist
42% College Hockey Participation by Alumni

NHL / NCAA / Junior / ACHA Participants

NHL Draft Picks:

John Carlson - Washington Capitals

Christian Jensen (2004) - San Jose Sharks


NCAA Division I Participants:

Sean Rappleyea - University of Alabama (Huntsville)

Marc Johnstone - Sacred Heart University
Joe Guerriero - Quinnipiac College

John Guerriero - Quinnipiac College
Kyle Jeffers (2017) - American International College (Fall 2020)

Joe Wagner - Niagara

Christian Jensen (2004) - RPI

John Kovalsky - Merrimack


NCAA Division III Participants:

Bob Bouthilette - Salve Regina

Ryan Carter (1991) - Norwich University

Paul Cimilluca (2015) - Wilkes University

Bryan Flegler - Fitchburg State College

Daren Helmold (1990) - Iona College

Derek Hengstenberg - Plymouth State

Todd Hengstenberg - Plymouth State

Anthony Inverno - Salem State College

Gordon Inverno - Salem State College

John Kovalsky - St. Anselm's College

Jeff Lenard - Canton (NY) Technical

Dave Martin - Plattsburgh State

Joe Mortillaro - Suffolk University 

Joe Nobilio - Western New England College


Junior Hockey:

2017 Kyle Jeffers - New Jersey Titans (NAHL)

2016 Paul Cimilluca - Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Knights (NAHL)

2015 Marc Johnstone - Chicago Steel (USHL)

2014 Michael Nisky - Omaha Lancers (USHL)

2013 Sean Rappleyea - Ottawa Junior Senators (CCHL)

2005 Alan Ogonowski - Alliston Hornets (GMOJHL)

2004 Christian Jensen - Waterloo Blackhawks / Chicago Steel (USHL)

ACHA Participants:

Nolan Banfitch - Stevens Institute of Technology
Thomas Bauer - William Patterson University
Adam Brozek - Scranton University
Alex Buckland - Seton Hall University
Gerard Campagna - St. Joseph's University
James Colline - Fairfield University
Pat Crosby - Temple University
Thomas Dietzel - Fordham University
Anthony DiLello - Wagner College
Sean Donohue - Scranton University
John Feltz - Penn State University
Brian Gahagan - Loyola College
Sean Gahagan - Loyola College
Steven Geffre - Rider University
Justin Gelesky - Rutgers University
Mike Gironda - Rutgers University
Robert Harrison - Seton Hall University
George Helock - Rider University
Julien Hendrickson - Penn State University
Ryan Hille - Rutgers University
Steven Hollabaugh (2018) - Quinnipiac University
Tom Howard - Rider College
Richie Johnstone - Liberty College
Andy King - Rider College
Jason Kosmaczewski - Scranton University
Ron Latz - Temple University
Connor Leahy - Sacred Heart University
Travis Literate - Monmouth University
Josh Mandel - Penn State University
Zak McGinniss - Catholic University
Gary Meyzinski - Monmouth University
Eric Neilsen - Rutgers University
Michael Nisky - University of Delaware
Ryan Ozimanic (2019) - Rutgers University
Michael Pace - Scranton University
Vinny Pizzi - St. Anselm's College
Alec Rankin - University of Delaware
Felipe Rodriguez - Virginia Tech University
Steven Romano - Monmouth University
Michael Sabella  – Quinnipiac University
Jacob Senkewicz - Stevens Institute of Technology
Nick Smythe (2019) - Monmouth University
Nickolas Sondej  – Sacred Heart University
Rob  Soper - Seton Hall University
Dan Stallone - Scranton University
Greg Sutton - East Stroudsburg State University
Marc Tannenhaus - Rutgers University
Jackson Udelsman - Rutgers University
James Ulrich  - Seton Hall University
Chris Wagner - Towson State University
Tyler Wands - Monmouth University
N.G. Welsh - Cornell University
Casey Yarger - Georgetown University
Tyler Zarecki - Marist College
Ed Zurawski - Monmouth University